With agriculture being Montana’s number-one industry, it’s essential that leaders appointed to committees be understanding of agricultural issues. The Montana Farm Bureau is proud to see several of its member leaders appointed by Governor Greg Gianforte to boards of selected committees.

Two new faces on the Board of Livestock include Gene Curry and Alan Redfield. Curry is a Front Range County Farm Bureau member who owns Curry Cattle Company in Valier, a diversified operation with livestock and small grains. Redfield is a member of Park County Farm Bureau and ranches in Livingston. Redfield served in the House for eight years, including time as the House Agriculture Committee chair. The Board of Livestock directs the actions of the Department of Livestock.

Bing von Bergen, a member of Judith Basin County Farm Bureau, was appointed to the Board of Hail Insurance. Von Bergen is the owner and operator of Von Bergen Farms in Moccasin, Montana. The Montana State Hail Insurance Program, created in 1917, provides basic hail insurance coverage on any crop grown in Montana. 

Two Farm Bureau members appointed to the Livestock Loss Board are Doreen Gillespie and Elaine Allestad. Gillespie, a rancher from Ethridge and a Front Range County Farm Bureau member, was a graduate from the 2019 Montana Farm Bureau ACE ag advocacy program. Allestad is a semi-retired rancher and member of Sweet Grass County Farm Bureau. The Montana Livestock Loss Board was established by the legislature in 2007 to address economic losses due to wolf predation and to create incentives for producers to take proactive, preventative steps to decrease the risk of loss.

The Board of Milk Control appointments included Staci Ketchum, Custer County Farm Bureau vice president who runs a family ranch in Miles City. The Board of Milk Control is administratively attached to the Department of Livestock, which provides staff to assist the Board of Milk Control in administering the Milk Control Act. 
“It’s rewarding to see our Farm Bureau members being appointed to these positions that will oversee agricultural policy in Montana,” said MFBF President Hans McPherson. “This is a great testament to the respect that Farm Bureau has in the political world and throughout the ag industry.”
“We would like to congratulate everyone who has been nominated by Governor Gianforte to serve on these important committees,” said MFBF Senior Director of Governmental Affairs Nicole Rolf. “These committees play a critical role in leading our industry so we are grateful for their willingness to serve. We appreciate that Governor Gianforte listened to the input and recommendations from the agriculture community in making these appointments.”

Others appointed to the state board include: Livestock Loss Board – Joseph Kipp, Browning; Board of Milk Control – Ken Bryan, Roundup; Scott Mitchell, Billings; Brian Beerman, Fairfield; and Travis Stroh, Glendive.