The MFBF Commodity Advisory Committees provide a forum for committee members to proactively discuss current issues within their specific commodity area. There are 12 committees specific to commodities or program areas that meet during the MFBF Summer Conference.  These videos provide a glimpse inside a few of the committee meetings.

Darcia Patten, Broadus, Montana, is the Montana Farm Bureau Equine Committee Chair. Should the Montana Department of Livestock have an equine representative on its board? How do Montana horse owners deal with rising horse prices? What can Montanans do to better manage its wild horse population? These are some of the issues the Equine Committee members are discussing this year.

To have your voice heard in the discussion, become a Montana Farm Bureau member:

MFBF 2016 Equine Committee 

  • Board of Livestock: The committee discussed equine representation on the Board of Livestock.  Montana is home to a large number of horses and the committee is interested in creating an additional seat on the Board of Livestock dedicated to the equine industry in Montana.

  • Animal Health & Brand Laws: Given the large number of horses in Montana and the number of the sporting and show events, the committee discussed the enforcement of animal health and brand laws.  With such high traffic, the committee is concerned there is risk of theft or disease transmission at these events if laws aren't enforced.

Sounds interesting—how do I get on a committee?

While policy development happens at the county Farm Bureau level, these committee meetings provide a chance to discuss important topics with a variety of individuals who have varying input and expertise.  Based on the discussion held during the meetings, the committee may make suggested policy recommendations that members then discuss at the county level and vote on during their county annual meetings. 

Each committee is made up of 10 primary members (one representative from each district) and 10 alternates.  Nominations must be made during the district caucuses held each November during annual convention.

Not sure what district you’re in? Find out here:

After the district caucuses, the nominations are submitted and the President makes the final committee appointments following annual convention. Each committee is assigned a MFBF staff contact.  This contact works with the committee chair and members to set the agenda for each meeting, share pertinent information between meetings, and collect resources for the committees to use when discussing policy.

Equine Committee members:

  • District 1—Janie Kurth, Missoula

  • District 2—Margaret Hebel, Dillon

  • District 3—Mary Hill, Raynesford

  • District 4—Holly Higgins, Hardin

  • District 5—Darcia Patten, Broadus

  • District 6—Gene Evans, Bloomfield

  • District 7—Vacant

  • District 8—Vacant

  • District 9—Scott Stoner, Clancy

  • District 10—Milee Malone Dailey, Pray

Do you have a voice in shaping the issues that impact your livelihood? Find out what district you would be in, reach out to your grassroots members and join the Montana Farm Bureau Federation today.