MISSOULA, Montana—Theo Yanzick, long-time Montana Farm Bureau member and board member of Carbon-Stillwater County Farm Bureau, received the Distinguished Service Award from the Montana Farm Bureau during the closing banquet November 16 in Missoula.

Yanzick has been involved in production agriculture from a young age. She and her late husband, Bruce, began their journey together in eastern Montana, moving to central Montana, and finally settling in Absarokee where they raised cattle and sheep for more than 40 years. When Bruce passed away in 2019, Theo continued to ranch, irrigate, and work with her neighbors.

The 82-year-old has been a Montana Farm Bureau member for more than 40 years and has served on the MFBF Sheep & Goat Committee for many consecutive years, having been selected to serve on this committee by four MFBF presidents. She has served as a voting delegate, representing her county at Montana Farm Bureau Conventions for many years.

Yanzick is a member of the Valley Watershed Council where her passion for fighting noxious weeds is always at the forefront.

Carbon-Stillwater Counties President Carla Lawrence noted, “Theo is always engaging people to become new members and reminding members to renew, as well as traveling on her side-by-side with member benefits brochures.”

MFBF President Cyndi Johnson, who presented the award, said, “I am beyond thrilled to present this award to Theo Yanzick who has ranched in the valleys of south-central Montana for over 40 years and who remains a stalwart member of her agricultural communities.”

The 103rd Montana Farm Bureau Annual Convention took place November 14-17, 2022 at the Hilton Garden Inn in Missoula.